Alt Break Testimonies- Taylorae DeWitt

19 Oct
“Alternative Spring Breaks has become my absolute favorite, most meaningful involvement here at CSU. The past two years I have spent my spring break learning about poverty, homelessness, low-achieving students, and underrepresented populations and have met some of the world’s most incredible individuals while doing so. I love Alt Breaks because it serves as a constant reminder in my life that authenticity, beauty, hope, and respect is all around me no matter the various identities that all too often separate us. I go on Alt Breaks expecting to help, when in reality this week of service helps me most by calling me to action and getting me to remember that I can make a change in this world. Alt Breaks astound me each and every year with the passion that is awakened when I return- after all, the best part is what your trip calls you to do when you return. This March I will be leading a trip to work with the International Rescue Committee that strives to lead refugees from harm to home. Have you ever thought about what home means to you? I challenge those interested to adventure with me to Atlanta, GA and learn from individuals who have had their home overtaken by harm and are have now come to the United States to rebuild their lives. There is something to be said about Alt Break magic, but you will never know what an impact this magic can have on your life until you apply and come on a trip!” 
 
Taylorae DeWitt

Leave a comment